///// Research organization

Director: Prof. Masahiko TANI • Vice Director: Prof. Yoshinori TATEMATSU

///// Research groups of FIR UF

- Core Research Division

Group for Development of fundamental far-infrared technologies

Development of high-power far-infrared radiation sources

Research into the high-efficiency, high-stability, and high-frequency operation of gyrotrons

▶ ► ► P5,6

E-mail: tatema@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp fukunari@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp

- Core Research Division

Group for Applications of THz technologies for research in materials science and sensing

Development and application of novel THz-wave emitters and detectors • THz optical and spectroscopic research using broadband THz waves Investigation on photodynamics on renewable-energy-science-related materials by using ultra-fast lasers

P9, 10

E-mail: tani@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp, tmakino@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp furuya@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp



Core Research Division

Group for Development of new technologies in the far-infrared region

- Further improvements in the gyrotron performance for application as a high power far-infrared radiation source
- Development of high-performance transmission lines for wider application of the gyrotro

▶ ▶ ▶ P5,6

E-mail: mitsudo@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp ishikawa@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp

- Core Research Division

Group for Low-temperature and condensed-matter physics

- Electron spin resonance spectroscopy in the submillimeter wave region
- Millimeter and submillimeter wave material processing
- Development and application of dynamic nuclear polarization-enhanced nuclear magnetic resonance (DNP-NMR)

▶ ▶ ▶ P7,8

E-mail: mitsudo @fir.u-fukui.ac.jp yfujii@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp

- International Research Division

Associate Prof. Mary Clare Sison ESCAÑO, Assistant Prof. Yuusuke YAMAGUCHI, Specially Appointed Assistant Prof. Dr. Hideaki KITAHARA, Postdoctoral fellow Dr. Joselite E. MULDERA In addition, several foreign researchers are employed as "Specially Appointed Professors" under the Cross-Appointment System or the Researcher Invitation System.

Development of high-power THz-wave radiation sources: the Gyrotron FU CW Series Development of new THz technologies through international collaborations

P5, 11

E-mail: mcescano@u-fukui.ac.jp y-yama@fir.u-fukui.ac.jp



Prof. Yoshinori TATEMATSU, Assistant Prof. Masafumi FUKUNARI



Prof. Masahiko TANI, Associate Prof. Takayuki MAKINO, Assistant Prof. Takashi FURUYA

Takashi FURUYA

Prof. Seitaro MITSUDO, Assistant Prof. Yuya ISHIKAWA Postdoctoral fellow Shigeo HARA



Prof. Seitaro MITSUDO, Associate Prof. Yutaka FUJII



Leading researchers in Japan are invited as Visiting Professors Domestic visitor

Applications of high-power THz waves

— Visiting Professor's Division

Development and applications of novel THz time-domain spectroscopy (TDS)

- Visiting Professor's Division

Teruo SAITO, Akira FUKUDA Research adviser

Cooperative Research Division

Material physics in the far-infrared region

- Electron spin resonance (ESR) spectroscopy in the submillimeter wavelength range
- Studies of the optical properties of nitride semiconductors using broadband spectroscopy in the far infrared to
- vacuum ultraviolet range

- Cooperative Research Division

THz spectroscopy and sensing / Millimeter wave communications / Optoelectronics

Prof. Mitoshi FUJIMOTO / Associate Prof. Sakae KAWATO / Associate Prof. Kohji YAMAMOTO

Application study of plasmonics to terahertz spectroscopy

- Study on propagation of terahertz pulse in photoexcited semiconductors
- Study on high performance millimeter wave antennas
- Study on material science by THz spectroscopy

Cooperative Research Division

Materials evaluation in the far-infrared region

Mechanical characterization of high-quality ceramics Surface characterization of new materials formed using high-power far-infrared technology

- Cooperative Research Division

Medical and biological application of far-infrared technologies

Evaluation of hyperthermia effect induced by irradiation of electromagnetic wave • Effect of electromagnetic wave irradiation on biological objects and molecules

Research support organization

- Technical staff: Mr. Masashi TOZAWA
- Cryogen supply section: Prof. Seitaro MITSUDO (section head)
- Secretaries: Ms. Miyuki MORITO, Ms. Kaori YOSHIDA, Ms. Yoriko KUWASHIMA, Division of Research Promotion, Department for Strategic Planning & Promotion
- Temporary staff (dispatched from NAKATEC Co., LTD.): Mr. Shigenobu ARAKAWA

Mary Clare Sison ESCAÑO



Prof. Hikomitsu KIKUCHI, Prof. Kazutoshi FUKUI

Prof. Kazuyoshi KURIHARA, Senior Assistant Prof. Takeshi MORIYASU /

Associate Prof. Tomomi HONDA

Associate Prof. Hideki MATSUMOTO